

Das einzig WAHRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Dead Head (NL) Genre: Thrash Metal

Label: Hammerheart Records Album title: Swine Plague

Duration: 47:30

Release date: 16.06.2017

The Dutchmen Dead Head were founded in 1989 and released 5 longplayers since then: "The Feast Begins At Dawn" (1991), "Dream Deceiver" (1993), "Kill Division" (1999), "Haatland" (2005) and "Depression Tank" (2009). The band history contains disunion, changes of the vocalist, changes of the vocalist, disunion and so on, that's why it is admirable that the original Line Up reunited here. And this delivers us "Swine Plague" now.

Deadhead do what they have always done. They shoot, shoot and shoot ... (you can continue this endlessly). They really go all out here. The drums are always bashing in a fast-paced thrash-beat through the songs and the guitars line up brutal riffs and screaming solos that come in from time to time. The singer screams his soul out and spits poison and bile. In general the comparisons with the first Dark Angel albums and exodus given by the leaflet are not too far fetched. I also think of Massacra and above all Assassin (musically certainly differently stored), which had a similar, nervous energy. Because this is Dead Head for me: A restless bombardment of thrash granats with no second pause, always hurrying from one attack to the next. For a few songs this is quite cool, but it gets a bit tiring with increasing album length.

The songs are all well arranged, but they don't offer really great hook to the ear, apart from the already mentioned clumsy aggressiveness. However, this now sounds worse than it really is. The technical level is at the top and in general Dead Head do exactly what the fans like, which can not be bad. I find it hard to keep the tracks apart. The best way I can do that is with the song "The Awakening" - as it is even faster than any other song - or with "Spanish Horse", which has some melody.

The sound is clear and brutal as well. He reminds of the current Sodom regarding the power, which is not the worst comparison.

Conclusion:

For me, especially the album "Dream Deceiver" had more charm. In any case, the full thrash power is offered here. Anyone who likes that, the above mentioned bands and considers a bit of variety in the songs unnecessary is served best here. Everyone else may not listen to the whole album in one go.

Rating: 7/10

Recommendation: The Awakening



TRACKLIST

- 01. Helhuizen
- 02. Dühr
- 03. Palfium
- 04. Fortress Of Greed
- 05. The Awakening
- 06. 13 Close
- 07. The Day Of The Devil
- 08. Spanish Horse
- 09. The Reformation
- 10. The Gates Beyond
- 11. Eternity Destroyed
- 12. The Battle Of Europe

LINEUP

Tomm van Dijk - Vocals, Bass Ronnie Vanderwey - Guitars Robbie Woning - Guitars Hans Spijker - Drums

INFORMATION

facebook.com/Deadheadthrash www.deadhead.nl

Author: Possessed Translator: Sereisa